Are we alone ?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Geedee

Senior Master Sergeant
Dec 5, 2008

Last edited:
The universe will be teeming with life. Carbon forms are regarded as most likely because carbon is just about the only molecule capable of forming the basis of the large molecules needed for life in reasonable conditions (pressure and temperature etc).It is no accident that,many,many,years ago I studied organic chemistry not "carbon chemistry". If our planet is anything to go by most of it is likely to be biological"scum" made up of primitive forms (apologies to all trekkies).This has been the case on earth for most of the time that life has existed here. The problem of communication is not just related to the vast distances involved but the immense length of time.The chances of any life form being close and evolved enough to make contact during the span of a human lifetime is effectively zero. Expanding that time to the few thousand years of our human civilisation gives the same result.
Of course effectively zero still leaves an infinitessimal chance which is a good thing for any lover of a good science fiction story. That's science FICTION lol.
I once worked on a Star Trek convention in London.A fan asked one of the actors if he thought a dilithium drive was possible. Exasperated he explained that he was an actor not an engineer and that the show was shot on a sound stage not a spaceship. I think the questioner was genuinely disappointed!
Steve
Steve

How can we be?

The universe is too damn large for us to be the only life out there. There is just so much to be explored. The real question should be "how large is the universe"? When does it stop, and what comes after that?